#### CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE COUNCIL

At a meeting of the **GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE** held in the Council Chamber, Priory House, Monks Walk, Shefford on Thursday, 18 April 2013

#### **PRESENT**

Cllr P Hollick (Chairman)
Cllr R C Stay (Vice-Chairman)

Clirs P N Aldis Clirs D J Lawrence
Mrs C F Chapman MBE Mrs J G Lawrence

A L Dodwell J Murray
J G Jamieson B Saunders
M R Jones N Warren

Members in Attendance: Cllrs A R Bastable D Jones

R D Berry K C Matthews
L Birt Ms C Maudlin
M C Blair D McVicar
D Bowater Mrs M Mustoe

A D Brown T Nicols

Mrs S Clark
Mrs G Clarke
N B Costin
I Dalgarno
Mrs R J Drinkwater

R B Pepworth
J A G Saunders
N J Sheppard
I Shingler
M A Smith

P A Duckett Miss A Sparrow

Dr R Egan B J Spurr Mrs R B Gammons A M Turner

C C Gomm Mrs P E Turner MBE Mrs S A Goodchild M A G Versallion

Ms A M W Graham

Mrs D B Green

Mrs D B Gurney

Mrs C Hegley

B Wells

R D Wenham

P Williams

J N Young

D J Hopkin A Zerny

Officers in Attendance: Mr J Atkinson – Head of Legal and Democratic

Services

Mr R Carr – Chief Executive

Ms D Clarke – Assistant Chief Executive (People

& Organisation)

Mrs E Grant – Deputy Chief Executive/Director of

Children's Services

Ms C Harding – Corporate Policy Advisor (Equality

& Diversity)

Mrs S Hobbs – Committee Services Officer
Mr T Keaveney – Assistant Director Housing

Services

Ms M Peaston	_	Committee Services Manager
Mr T Saunders	_	Assistant Director Planning
Mr C Warbovs	_	Chief Finance Officer

# GPC/13/1 Membership of the Appointments Panel and the Employee Partnership Committee

The Committee considered a schedule tabled by the Monitoring Officer outlining the nominations from the Group Leaders in relation to the appointment of Members to the Appointments Panel and the Employee Partnership Committee.

The Committee was advised that the membership of the two existing Appointments Sub-Committees would remain unaltered whilst they carried out their allotted functions.

#### **RESOLVED**

that the membership of the Appointments Panel and the Employee Partnership Committee be appointed as indicated on the schedule attached as Appendix A to these minutes.

#### **NOTED**

that the Appointments Sub-Committee will be appointed by the Monitoring Officer and will be composed of 3-5 Members (2-4 Conservatives and 1 Independent, including at least 1 Executive Member) plus 3 substitutes (2 Conservatives and 1 Independent), as necessary.

(Note:	The meeting commenced at 9.50 p.m. and concluded at 9.51 p.m.)		
	Chairman		
	Dated		

## Appendix A

### **General Purposes Committee Nominations**

Appointments Panel	
(5 Members + 3 substitutes, plus all the Executive Members with specific portfolios)	Cllr Fiona Chapman (C) Cllr Peter Hollick (C) Cllr Mrs Jane Lawrence (C) Cllr Richard Stay (C) Cllr Julian Murray (I)
4 (2) Conservatives 1 (1) Independent	plus Executive Members as below: Cllr James Jamieson Cllr Maurice Jones Cllr Mrs Carole Hegley Cllr Brian Spurr Cllr Nigel Young Cllr Mark Versallion  Subs: Cllr Brian Saunders (C) Cllr Nigel Warren (C) Cllr lan Shingler (I)
Appointments Sub-Committee	Appointed by the Monitoring Officer as needed from the membership of the Appointments Panel.  To comprise 3-5 members (2-4 Conservative and 1 Independent, including at least 1 Executive Member)
Employee Partnership Committee (7 members + 4 substitutes)	Cllr Peter Hollick (C) Cllr James Jamieson (C) Cllr Maurice Jones (C)
7 (4) Conservatives	Cllr Mrs Jane Lawrence (C) Cllr Ken Matthews (C) Cllr Richard Stay (C)
	Subs: Cllr Fiona Chapman (C) Cllr Brian Saunders (C) Cllr Nigel Warren (C)

This page is intentionally left blank